Last year’s US Open runner-up up Dustin Johnson has won his first major at this year’s US Open, but in controversial circumstances.
He played his last seven holes knowing he had to review a possible rules infringement after the round.
Despite his score being amended to four under after he was penalised for making his ball move on the fifth green, Johnson shot 68. But Johnson appeared to consult with officials after the incident, in which they told him to continue.
The American finished three strokes ahead of Shane Lowry and American duo Jim Furyk and Scott Piercy.
Lowry, who had stated the final round at Oakmont with a four shot advantage, blew his lead on the first nine.
But confusion began after Johnson opened up a large lead with nobody knowing if he was to he penalised for his earlier incident.
Another official approached the winner on the 12th tee, and it was decided the earlier incident would be reviewed.
Johnson claimed he was not affected by the intervention from officials.
“At that point, I just thought I’d deal with it when I’m done,” he said. “I tried to block it out and not let it bother me. Who cares, it doesn’t matter any more.”