Home / Football / Allardyce names first England Squad for Slovakia clash

Allardyce names first England Squad for Slovakia clash


New England manager Sam Allardyce has named his first squad since succeeding Roy Hodgson.

The usual inclusions, such as Wayne Rooney and Joe Hart, make the squad for England’s World Cup qualifier on September 4 against Slovakia, but there are also some shock decisions made by the former West Ham and Sunderland manager.

Hammers winger Michail Antonio has been called up with the possibility for him to earn his first cap, whilst Danny Drinkwater and Theo Walcott return after they failed to be selected at Euro 2016.

Manchester United left back Luke Shaw returns to the senior set up after breaking his leg last season, and there is also a recall for Everton defender Phil Jagielka.

Jack Wilshere, a surprise inclusion to Hodgson’s squad for the Euros, has been dropped, as has Everton midfielder Ross Barkley, despite already netting two goals for the Toffees this season under new manager Ronald Koeman.

Joe Hart is likely to remain as the national sides number one despite his uncertainty at Manchester City under Pep Guardiola, and club team mate Raheem Sterling keeps his place after his strong start to the season.

Speaking about the inclusion of Antonio, Allardyce said; “I think he’s in outstanding form. 

“This is another lad with a great journey – it’s a fantastic journey that he’s been on, from non-league to now an international call-up.

“He scored nine goals in his first season and he’s a terrific athlete, a good crosser and a goalscorer.”

Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney, who also led the national side under Roy Hodgson, has been named in the 23-man squad, but Allardyce is yet to make a decision on who his skipper will be.


England Squad:


Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley).


Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).


Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Michail Antonio (West Ham United), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Theo Walcott (Arsenal).


Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City).


About Dale Ventham

My name is Dale Ventham, and I am the CEO and owner at The Sports Lowdown. I enjoy writing about all levels of football, particularly in England but occasionally Europe too, and as an Oxford United fan, I also enjoy writing about the lower leagues. I am also a fan of speedway, and cover major tournaments.

Check Also

Champions League – 12/9

It was the return of the Champions League last night, and it was a winning ...