Breaking News
  • F.A Cup Final Preview: Arsenal vs Aston Villa
  • Federer eases past Dzumhur; reaches 4th round at Roland Garros
  • Kell Brook v Frankie Gavin Whets The Boxing Appetite
  • Hartley Dropped From World Cup Squad
  • PDC Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters: Day Two Preview
  • Russ Bray: One Mistake Too Many?
  • 5 managers that West Ham should look at
  • England’s Women in Final Preparations For 2015 World Cup
  • All The Seeds Through As MVG Survives Scare! PDC Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters Day One Review
  • Murray pushed by Sousa, but French Open glory still remains
Home / Latest News / Tai Woffinden wins third consecutive Czech Grand Prix

Tai Woffinden wins third consecutive Czech Grand Prix

View image |

Great Britain’s Tai Woffinden won his third consecutive Prague Grand Prix last night, extending his lead in the riders championship by six points.

In doing so, Woffinden has equaled Australian legend Jason Crump’s record of three victories in the Czech Republic.

Woffinden was in devastating form all night at the Marketa Stadium, and made it to the final following three wins from six rides.

The 2013 world champion come home first in the final ahead of Polish due Jaroslaw Hampel and Maciej Janowski, with closest challenger in the riders championship, Nicki Pedersen, coming last in the final heat.

The Brit has opened up a six point advantage over Pedersen after round three, with the next race at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on July 4.

The 18 points scored by Janowski lifts him into the top eight, whilst Hampel’s 13 points keeps him third behind Pedersen. On the night, Pedersen scored 15 but it was Woffinden’s 18 points and four race wins that helped him claim his third consecutive victory at the Marketa Stadium.

Woffinden will also be boosted by the record that seven of the last eleven Czech Grand Prix winners have gone on to become world champions, including the Brit two years ago.

The Grand Prix will now take a six week break before it returns in Cardiff on July 4. During the break, some of the riders will take part in the FIM Speedway World Cup.

Current champions Denmark go into the final, led by Pedersen. Woffinden will be hoping that his Great Britain side can overcome Australia, Latvia and the USA and reach the final in Vojens on June 13.

Prague Riders Championship Speedway Grand Prix World Champion

About Dale Ventham

Dale Ventham is an editor at The Sports Lowdown. He also covers the lower leagues in English football.

Check Also


Hartley Dropped From World Cup Squad

View image | Dylan Hartley has been dropped form the England Rugby World Cup ...