Home / Darts / PDC European Darts Open Competitors And Seeds

PDC European Darts Open Competitors And Seeds

View image | gettyimages.com

Following the European Darts Open qualifiers little under two months ago, thirty-six out of the forty-eight competitors have been confirmed ahead of the event that gets underway on Friday afternoon in Dusseldorf.

This is of course the last tournament and weekend before the BetVictor World Matchplay kicks off in Blackpool next weekend, and will be the last chance to build some form before heading to the Winter Gardens.

Michael van Gerwen will start the tournament as the number one seed after being beaten in the fifth European Tour event which was his first defeat on the tour this year to Bentito van de Pas, he will be keen to hit back here.

James Wade, Peter Wright and Michael Smith, who won the last European Tour event in Riesa, all make up the top four seeds, who will enter the competition in the second round.

Brendan Dolan, Simon Whitlock, Vincent van der Voort and Ian White will also feature in Germany, and will enter the competition in the second round stage with the other seeds. Twenty additional qualifiers have already been determined, and four Home Nation qualifiers along with eight European qualifiers will be decided on Thursday evening.

UPDATE: There will be a fifth German qualifier following Gary Anderson and Keegan Brown’s withdrawals from the competition, and Benito van de Pas takes the sixteenth seeded place and everyone else moves up a place to compensate for Anderson’s withdrawal. Both have withdrawn through illness.

Seeded Players:
1 Michael van Gerwen
2 James Wade
3 Peter Wright
4 Michael Smith
5 Brendan Dolan
6 Simon Whitlock
7 Vincent van der Voort
8 Ian White
9 Mervyn King
10 Justin Pipe
11 Robert Thornton
12 Terry Jenkins
13 Kim Huybrechts
14 Dave Chisnall
15 Steve Beaton
16 Benito van de Pas

Unseeded Qualifiers:
Mark Walsh, Stephen Bunting, Gerwyn Price, John Henderson, Eddie Dootson, Andrew Gilding, Barrie Bates, Keegan Brown, Jamie Lewis, Andy Smith, Mark Webster, Johnny Haines, Alan Norris, Wes Newton, Joe Cullen, Daryl Gurney, Devon Petersen, Kevin McDine, Stuart Kellett, Nathan Aspinall

European Tour MVG pdc

About Oliver Gull

Check Also


Mourinho takes Old Trafford hot seat

Embed from Getty Images   Jose Mourinho has been confirmed as the new manager of ...