Home / Latest News / 5 teams that can win the Rugby World Cup

5 teams that can win the Rugby World Cup

View image | gettyimages.com


Another is the 2003 winners, 2007 runners up and this years host team, England. Who can forget Jonny Wilkinson’s last minute drop kick in extra time? This won the 2003 World Cup for England in Australia.

In 2011, after 2 tournaments of getting to the final, England went out at the Quarter finals. This was a disappointing tournament to fans. However they did good as they were in bad form and the even beat Argentina, who were higher in the rankings than England.

This year England are in the “Pool of Death” and will have a hard time. They face Austrailia(2nd), Wales(5th), Fiji(9th) and Uruguay(19th). England are currently 4th in the rankings. This will be a hard pool to get out of. It will be out of Australia, England and Wales to be the top 2 in this pool.

It wont be easy but England should get out their pool. Their win over Ireland was a confidence builder as they are a hard team. England have narrowly missed out on the previous few 6 nations and are a good team. Since the last World Cup, they have beaten the top teams and are capable of winning. Also as host’s they will have the largest fan base and one of the biggest fan bases.
Pool Games
18/09-vs Fiji – Twickenham
26/09-vs Wales – Twickenham
3/10-vs Australia – Twickenham
10/10-vs Uruguay – Manchester City Stadium

new zealand Rugby World Cup 2015

About Jonathon Timmiss

Check Also

Laura Trott becomes GB’s most successful female Olympian

Embed from Getty Images   Great Britain’s Laura Trott claimed gold in the women’s omnium ...