Home / Cricket / ICC World T20 Championship 2016 Preview

ICC World T20 Championship 2016 Preview

Next month the world’s cricketing elite will meet in India for this years T20 world championship. The worlds top teams will compete in the limited overs format in which each innings is only 20 overs long. The tournament will take place over 1 month starting with the fist round which will start on the 8th of March and the Final will be on the 3rd of April.

Embed from Getty Images

The Format 

The top 10 ICC ranked teams got a place in the finals automatically. 14 other teams managed to make it to the qualifiers. The top 6 teams from the 2013 qualifiers as well as various continental winners and co-hosts Scotland made it through. In July of last year the 14 teams played matches in Ireland and Scotland and only 6 made it through to the finals in India.

Netherlands, Ireland, Oman, Scotland, Afghanistan and Hong Kong will join Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in the first round of the competition where the 8 teams have been slit into 2 groups of 4 and only the top team in each group will make it through to the next round.

Then 2 teams will then join the worlds cricketing elite in the Super 10’s round. West Indies, New Zealand, England, South Africa, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India have been split into 2 groups of 4 with one of the qualifiers going into each group so it will end up with groups of 5. The top 2 of each groups will contest the semi final then the winners will be in the final.

About Jonathon Timmiss

Check Also


Spieth Criticism is Unjustified

Embed from Getty Images Since he exploded onto the golfing scene, Jordan Spieth has enjoyed ...