Home / Latest News / Djokovic crushes Raonic to clinch fifth Indian Wells crown

Djokovic crushes Raonic to clinch fifth Indian Wells crown

Embed from Getty Images


Novak Djokovic has retained the BNP Paribas Open title after the world number one produced a masterful display to dismantle Milos Raonic 6-2 6-0. The big serving Canadian struggled to impose his powerful game as Djokovic thoroughly dominated the contest, using his precise tennis to take apart his opponent and clinch a comfortable victory.

In the first set, Djokovic immediately exerted pressure on the Raonic serve, and an exquisite lob helped the Serbian break his opponent to eventually build an early 2-0 lead. The Canadian’s aggressive strategy was not paying dividends, as the combination of his errors and Djokovic’s solid play extracted the doubled break, opening up a commanding advantage for the world number one. The Canadian struggled to make enough firsts serves and the world number one fully capitalised, using his precise groundstrokes and imperious defensive abilities at times to consistently pressurise his opponent. Even though Raonic held his remaining service games, Djokovic continued his clinical form and he took the set when the Canadian sprayed a forehand wide.

As the second set unfolded, Raonic was under siege once again and even though he saved break points with huge serves, his errant play was eventually punished by the Serbian, who gained a quick lead once again when his opponent netted a backhand. Djokovic easily consolidated his advantage and the world number one continued his relentless assault, producing a deep return that forced Raonic to concede the double break. The Canadian appeared to be slightly affected by an injury and was clearly not at his best, but Djokovic was in unforgiving mood as he struck again to ensure Raonic would not even win a single game in the set. The world number one was simply too strong and efficient, holding his serve easily to wrap up an impressive win.

With this victory, Djokovic has collected his fifth Indian Wells title and subsequently moved level with Rafael Nadal with the most masters titles at 27.

In the women’s final, Victoria Azarenka clinched the BNP Paribas title after she upset Serena Williams 6-4 6-4.

ATP BNP Paribas Open milos raonic Novak Djokovic Serena Williams Victoria Azarenka

About Nathan Rodrigues

Check Also

London Welsh avoid liquidation

Embed from Getty Images   London Welsh have avoided liquidation after paying their debts owed ...