Home / Latest News / Saracens secure Premiership victory

Saracens secure Premiership victory


View image | gettyimages.com


Saracens held on to claim their second Premiership title, despite a second half comeback from Bath.

Having lost in the final last year, Saracens were determined not to see a repeat, and seeing as the 2011 champions had led 25-3 at the break, you could forgive them for feeling confident.

But after a second half fightback, Bath gave Saracens a nervy end to the game, but the side that have reached four finals in six years held on to claim their first title for four years

Saracens had a 22 point advantage heading into half time following a one sided first 40 minutes, with unanswered tries through Owen Farrell, Jamie George and Chris Wyles. Fly half Farrell added a further ten points with successful kicks.

Despite trailing, Bath began the second half a lot more positive. England centre Jonathan Joseph’s try and a further eight points from George Ford gave Bath a return into the game.

With the deficit now at just nine points, Saracens were beginning to look nervy, but when they were awarded a penalty, Farrell successfully converted, taking the score to 28-16.

Bath were running out of time to find 12 points, but Saracens regained momentum and managed to keep Bath at bay.

Saracens held on, becoming the first team to secure the Premiership having finished outside the top two.

As for Bath, they’re wait stretches to 19 years, having not won the Premiership since 1996.

There were joyous celebrations from the Saracens players and staff at the final whistle at Twickenham, a significant difference to last season where they were the losing side.


Bath: Watson; Rokoduguni, Joseph, Eastmond, Banahan; Ford, Stringer; James, Batty, Wilson, Hooper (capt), Attwood, Burgess, Louw, Houston.

Replacements: Webber, Auterac, Thomas, Day, Garvey, Fearns, Cook, Devoto.

Saracens: Goode; Strettle, Taylor, Barritt, Wyles; Farrell, Wigglesworth; M. Vunipola, George, Du Plessis, Kruis, Hargreaves (capt), Itoje, Burger, B. Vunipola.

Replacements: Brits, Barrington, Figallo, Hamilton, Wray, de Kock, Hodgson, Ashton.


Bath Premiership Rugby Saracens Twickenham

About Dale Ventham

Dale Ventham is an editor at The Sports Lowdown. He writes on the lower leagues of English football and Speedway in particular.

Check Also

Adam Scott

Scott Makes it Back-to-Back Wins

Embed from Getty Images Adam Scott has won the WGC Cadillac World Championship after finishing ...