Home / Cricket / All Change In England ODI Squad

All Change In England ODI Squad

View image | gettyimages.com


England look to have discarded some of the veterans of recent One Day International sides after a disastrous World Cup, with Ian Bell, Stuart Broad and Jimmy Anderson all omitted from the squad.

With a new direction needed for ‘Brand England’ ahead of the 2019 World Cup, selectors look to have gone with youth, naming a fresh squad with eight of the World Cup squad discarded for the upcoming one day series with New Zealand.

There is a new face in the squad as Kent wicketkeeper Sam Billings is included for the first time, though purely as a batsman, with regular keeper Jos Buttler in the squad.

Other players that have been discarded from the England World Cup squad include James Treadwell, Gary Ballance, Moeen Ali and Ravi Bopara, with Chris Woakes omitted through injury.

Eoin Morgan again leads the squad with Jason Roy, Adil Rashid and David Willey awarded for their form and for both the England Lions and in domestic cricket.

James Taylor will be looking to press claims for an England test match call up for the summer, showing he is capable of becoming a regular in all formats of the game.

England ODI squad to face New Zealand:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, capt), Sam Billings (Kent, wk), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, wk), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), David Willey (Northants), Mark Wood (Durham).

England v New Zealand limited-overs schedule

9 June: 1st ODI, Edgbaston

12 June: 2nd ODI, The Oval

14 June: 3rd ODI, Southampton

17 June: 4th ODI, Trent Bridge

20 June: 5th ODI, Chester-le-Street

23 June: Twenty20, Old Trafford

English Cricket ODI Squad

About Andy Moore

Andy is Chief Editor of The Sports Lowdown and a sports journalist by profession having written for both print publications such as The Sun, The Rugby Paper as well as various online digital sites such as The Aviva Premiership, The Women's Super League plus many many more.

Check Also


Djokovic crushes Raonic to clinch fifth Indian Wells crown

Embed from Getty Images   Novak Djokovic has retained the BNP Paribas Open title after ...