Home / Football / USA Crowned World Cup Champions for 3rd Time

USA Crowned World Cup Champions for 3rd Time

View image | gettyimages.com

The United States have won the 7th edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, their 3rd title, having previously claimed victories in 1991 and 1999.


American supporters invaded Vancouver on Independence weekend and saw Jill Ellis’ side rip opponents, Japan, apart and ending a 16 year wait to be crowned World Champions.

USA took just 16 minutes to race into a 4 goal lead, midfielder Megan Rapinoe sent a low driven corner that deceived a flat-footed Japan defence and Player of the Match, Carli Lloyd struck a first time shot past keeper Ayumi Kaihori.

Barely a minute later, Lloyd grabbed her second goal after a low free-kick from Lauren Holiday was guided, almost magnetically, to the American captain, who finished with aplomb.

Then with Japan uncharacteristically shaky in defence, Azusa Iwashimizu’s poor clearance fell to Holiday, who smashed a volley past Kaihori with only 14 minutes on the clock.

Lloyd then completed her hat-trick, with a Beckham-like goal from within her own half as the back-peddling Kaihori could only help the ball on its way into her net.

View image | gettyimages.com

The American captain, incredibly could have added her fourth but saw her bullet header go narrowly wide.

Japan, however, did manage to pull a goal back just before the break, thanks to Yumi Ogimi, who turned sharply away from defender Julie Johnston in the area and applied a cool finish past Hope Solo.

The Nadeshiko then reduced the deficit further after the break as Johnston inadvertently directed her glancing header past Solo following Aya Miyama’s perfectly-flighted free-kick.

However, Jill Ellis’ side restored their 3 goal margin after Tobin Heath netted from close range following an assist by compatriot Morgan Brian.

There were big roars from the pro-USA crowd following the introduction of veterans Abby Wambach and Christine Rampone.

Ukrainian referee Kateryna Monzul blew the final whistle of the tournament with the Americans deserved and worthy winners.


Solo, Sauerbrunn, Lloyd ©, Krieger, Holiday, Morgan (Rampone 86), Brian, Rapinoe (O’Hara 61), Heath (Wambach 79), Johnston, Kilngenberg.


Kaihori, Iwashimizu (Sawa 33), Kumagai, Sameshima, Sakaguchi, Miyama ©, Kawasumi (Sugasawa 39), Ohno (Iwabuchi 60), Utsugi, Ogimi, Ariyoshi.


Japan Women USA Women Women's World Cup

About Darran Dean


Check Also

leyton orient ground

League Two Review: 30 January

Embed from Getty Images The final weekend of League Two action in January comes to ...